A Little Update from Ecuador

Hello, there. Long time no see! ;-)

Puuh, the last few weeks have been quite eventful. As some of you might know, we spent over 3 weeks at the coast of Ecuador “workawaying” for a US American couple. We had some really great times there. Our work consisted of walking and feeding the dogs twice a day and doing some cleaning or repairing work around the house. Pretty easy! We had our own little bungalow right next to the pool and the ocean was only a 100 m walk away. Sounds like paradise, huh?

While being there we enjoyed getting to know many places that are famous for their biodiversity, so we saw a lot of different exotic animals, went hiking in rain forests and took advantage of being at the beach almost every day hitting the high waves. Then afterwards, the past two weeks were spent exploring the North of Ecuador and I must admit, the more I see of this country the more I like it. From the countries we have been to on this trip it is by far the one I feel most comfortable in and also the landscapes are so diverse it just takes my breath away sometimes. We were very fortunate to have a friend here in Quito that showed us around and provided us with sooo much helpful information about his country. A big shout out to Max! Who also let us stay at his house and have his car when he didn’t need it.

Although we really had the best time here in Ecuador, it is a small country so we were ready to leave to Colombia this morning. Our route half-determined for the next 4 weeks – and also the last 4 weeks of our South America trip :-( – we made our way to the bus terminal. As clumsy as I am, sometimes, I stepped into a road gully that was missing an iron bar and hurt the shin and ankle of my left foot. Thank God, everything is fine and there are no fractures! But walking is still impossible and probably will be for the next few days.

Bummer! This morning I was getting so excited about Colombia as I did some more research on the places we wanted to visit and now this?! I guess in life you sometimes receive signs that force you to calm down and take things on an easier note. I start understanding it more and more now, but the first few hours after the accident I was horrified about its possible outcomes. What if something is fractured? Will I have to go home? Thoughts like these are the worst. But only reflecting back on today it makes everything clearer in my head. Often we get caught up in so many different things so that we forget about the principal aspects in our life. Especially when traveling South America I started to feel a little bit of pressure. Of course I wanted to visit as many places as I could and have unique experiences. And as we’re in the last weeks now, I want to see as much as possible in this short period of time despite of getting tired a little bit of it already. So sometimes I forget about why I really travel. It is not the pictures or the stories I can brag with, neither the bucket list that I need to be complete in my head. It is about getting to know myself and a different part of the world better. Because good things are going to happen to us anyway at any place we visit. And you never know what life has is store for you, so you’re just left there to trust in that. And that’s what I’ll do for now.

Over the last few weeks I’ve also had so many different ideas to write about but couldn’t find a lot of motivation to actually type down my thoughts. But maybe I needed this little pause to get back on track and work more on the blog and be more enthusiastic about it. Now is definitely the perfect moment, because I will have a lot of spare time on my hands. So get ready for some blog post overload! ;-)

There will always be bad things happening. Everyday! But how they influence our present and the future depends on us. I am still not 100% positive about what happened earlier today but there are definitely not only bad sides about it. And eventually I will be able to visit Colombia, just maybe not as intensive as I wanted to but who knows what that is good for? It will all make sense afterwards, that’s what Lars uses to say all the time.

So I hope all of you’ve had a great start to your week! Thanks for reading my little rant. :-)

XX

Ella

PS: The picture was taken yesterday when both of my legs were still fine. I was standing on both hemispheres at the same time at Mitad del Mundo, latitude 0.

Leave a Reply

